Your last name doesn't have to be Griswold to realize that packing up the "family truckster" for a lengthy road trip can be a stressful experience. In addition to herding the kids, you have to worry about budgeting your time, your money and—thanks to high gas prices, your fuel—to ensure that you arrive at your destination with your sanity intact. The last thing you need along the way is a costly ticket for failing to know the driving laws and traffic laws for the states through which you pass.
Accordingly, if you're planning to travel to or through the Sunshine State, this handy Florida Driving & Traffic Law Guide is for you. Hopefully, it will lessen your travel-related stress just a little as you head out on your next driving trip or vacation to Florida.
Florida Speed Limit
Speed limits vary in Florida based on location, terrain, and road conditions. In general, however, the maximum speed limit is 75 mph on Florida's limited access highways. All other highways have a lower maximum speed limits of 55-60 mph, so visitors would be well advised to monitor posted limits-especially approaching urban areas. The maximum speed limit on Florida urban streets is 30 mph, with the limit dropping to 20 mph in school zones. Failure to abide by posted speed limits in and around Florida construction areas can result in double the standard fine.
Use of Radar Detectors in Florida
Federal law prohibits the use of radar detectors in commercial vehicles 10,000 pounds and higher. In Florida, radar detectors are permitted in all other vehicles.
Florida Cellphone Law
At the present time, Florida does not have any laws limiting or banning the use of cell phones by drivers. For updates about Florida cell phone laws, visit the Insurance Institute For Highway Safety.
Florida Road Construction Information
The Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) provides the state's best and most current information regarding Florida bridge and road construction projects. There is also a comprehensive traffic camera and travel information site at Florida 511.
Florida Bicycle Laws
Many jurisdictions within Florida require riders 16 years of age and younger to wear a helmet while riding a bicycle. Riders operating between sunset and sunrise are required to have proper rear, red reflectors and forward-facing illumination. Visit FDOT for more information on Florida's bike laws.
For more information about Florida driving laws and Florida traffic laws, please visit the Florida Department of Transportation website.
Not what you were looking for? Have questions or feedback? Please let us know.
One of our newsletters should arrive in your inbox soon - keep an eye out for it!
Copyright © 1998-2015 by Quinstreet, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Insurance licenses
Insurance.com is not affiliated with any state or government agency.
950 Tower Ln, Suite 600, Foster City 94404