Go To Top

An SR-22 is proof of financial responsibility and is required by a state after someone has had their driver's license suspended, revoked, or after a major violation. If you need an SR-22, your car insurance rates will increase by an average of $993 per year. The cause of that increase isn’t the SR-22 but the violation that resulted in the SR-22 requirement.

For example, if you’ve been convicted of a DUI, you must get an SR-22 certificate to keep your driving privileges. But the DUI causes your rates to go up, not the SR-22.

Read on to learn everything you need to know about an SR-22, including what it is, how much insurance costs with an SR-22, and the cheapest companies for SR-22 insurance.

KEY TAKEAWAYS
  • SR-22 insurance isn't really a type of insurance. It's a form your insurance company files with the state to prove you have the required amount of coverage.
  • You may need to file an SR-22 after a major violation like a DUI or if you're caught driving without insurance.
  • An SR-22 doesn't raise your rates, but the violation that caused you to need one will.
  • Most insurance companies, including major ones like State Farm and Geico, can file an SR-22 for you.

What is SR-22 insurance?

An SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility required by the state to prove you have the required minimum car insurance. The insurance company will file this form on your behalf and will also report any lapse in your coverage. SR-22 insurance is not really a type of car insurance.

The term SR-22 insurance is generally used to describe any policy where the company has to file an SR-22 for the insured driver.

How much does SR-22 insurance cost?

For an SR-22, insurance companies can charge a one-time filing fee. The standard SR-22 filing fee is $25, but it can be higher. The SR-22 itself doesn’t increase your car insurance rates.

However, the violation that resulted in an SR-22 requirement will affect your auto insurance premium. In short, it’s your infraction and not the SR-22 that will hike up your rates. Your rate will go up, on average, 57% or $993 a year for one DUI, according to a 2022 rate analysis by Insurance.com. With an SR-22 or FR-44 (a similar form required in some states), you may have to carry more than the state minimum, increasing your rates even more.

How much SR-22 insurance costs a month is simply a division of the annual rate into 12 payments. However, your state or insurer may require you to pay in full when your car insurance policy includes an SR-22 or FR-44 filing. 

Average cost of insurance with an SR-22 after a DUI
StateAverage RateDUI Rate% Increase$Increase
Alaska$1,286$1,69632%$410
Alabama$1,580$2,54861%$968
Arkansas$1,652$2,61358%$960
Arizona$1,719$2,69357%$974
California$2,207$4,525105%$2,318
Colorado$2,125$3,26654%$1,141
Connecticut$1,529$2,60270%$1,074
Washington, D.C.$1,909$2,64238%$733
Delaware$1,791$2,98667%$1,195
Florida$2,981$4,13639%$1,156
Georgia$1,710$2,79563%$1,085
Hawaii$1,309$3,213146%$1,904
Iowa$1,241$1,65333%$412
Idaho$1,082$1,62450%$542
Illinois$1,559$2,19441%$635
Indiana$1,363$2,17359%$810
Kansas$1,557$2,32149%$764
Kentucky$2,086$3,19953%$1,113
Louisiana$3,126$4,85255%$1,727
Massachusetts$1,776$2,92765%$1,152
Maryland$2,172$3,04040%$869
Maine$1,068$1,57748%$509
Michigan$3,915$7,00779%$3,091
Minnesota$1,768$2,89164%$1,124
Missouri$2,669$3,59135%$923
Mississippi$1,535$2,32251%$787
Montana$1,709$2,40941%$701
North Carolina$1,442$3,699157%$2,257
North Dakota$1,357$2,25466%$897
Nebraska$1,926$3,10661%$1,180
New Hampshire$1,023$1,45342%$430
New Jersey$2,232$3,45355%$1,221
New Mexico$1,657$2,30839%$651
Nevada$2,427$3,79756%$1,371
New York$1,822$2,29626%$474
Ohio$1,136$1,76255%$626
Oklahoma$1,968$2,63134%$662
Oregon$1,484$2,20348%$719
Pennsylvania$1,508$2,49866%$990
Rhode Island$1,923$2,89851%$975
South Carolina$1,804$2,43735%$633
South Dakota$1,585$2,39651%$810
Tennessee$1,360$2,16359%$803
Texas$2,036$3,02749%$991
Utah$1,629$2,48152%$852
Virginia$1,319$2,05456%$735
Vermont$1,195$1,78449%$589
Washington$1,500$2,30454%$804
Wisconsin$1,818$2,92361%$1,104
West Virginia$1,474$2,19249%$717
Wyoming$1,880$2,97358%$1,093

Why is SR-22 insurance required?

There are a number of reasons you might need an SR-22:

  • DUI or DWI or other major alcohol violation conviction
  • Serious moving violation conviction, such as reckless or negligent driving
  • Several traffic offenses in a short time period
  • Driving without insurance 
  • Being involved in an accident without insurance
  • To obtain a hardship or probationary license
  • To reinstate your driver's license after a suspension or revocation

Why is SR22 insurance required?

Many think of an SR-22 as something you only need to get insurance after a DUI. In reality, there are a lot of reasons you might need a SR-22.

If you need an SR-22, you will receive a notice from the state or the court. This notice will tell you why an SR-22 is required, the minimum insurance requirements, and how long the SR-22 form must stay on file with the state.

A form called the FR-44 is similar to the SR-22 but requires drivers to carry much higher liability limits. It is currently only required in Florida and Virginia for drivers who have been convicted of certain alcohol-related violations.

How to get an SR-22 insurance filing

To get an SR-22 filed, you’ll need to ask an insurance company to file it on your behalf. Only an insurance company can file an SR-22.

Call your insurance company as soon as you are notified that you need an SR-22.

Most car insurance companies will file an SR-22, although some don’t provide that service. If that’s the case with your current company, you will have to shop around. Since an SR-22 is associated with a driving violation that will affect your rates, you might want to shop around either way.

How long is SR-22 insurance required?

How long you will need an SR-22 on file depends on the state and the reason you need it.

Commonly, an SR-22 is required for three years. When the clock starts also varies by state. It may begin with the offense date, conviction date, suspension date or the date when the state reinstated your license.

Make certain you know how long your SR-22 is required by the state. If you cancel your car insurance policy before that time is up, your SR-22 filing will no longer be valid. Your license and/or registration may be suspended or revoked and the clock could start again on how long the SR-22 must be maintained.

Another bit of good news is the offense that resulted in the SR-22 won’t haunt you forever. When the violation falls off your driving record, your car insurance rates will go down as well.

What is non-owner car insurance with an SR-22?

If you don’t own a car but are required to carry an SR-22, non-owner car insurance is an option to fulfill your SR-22 filing requirements.

A non-owner policy insures you as the driver when you are behind the wheel of a car owned by someone else. Since you can’t get a regular car insurance policy if you don’t own a car, a non-owner policy allows you to get the required coverage and get your SR-22 filed with the state.

What happens to an SR-22 if you move to another state?

Not every state uses an SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility. The SR-22 filing is not used in:

  • Delaware
  • Kentucky
  • Minnesota
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania

If you have an SR-22 in one state and move to another state, you’ll typically still be required to keep an SR-22 on file in your previous home state. You’ll need to look for an out-of-state SR-22 filing from a nationwide auto insurance carrier.

How your SR-22 is handled will depend on the state. Some states will waive the requirement, while others will require you to file a new SR-22. Speak to your insurance company and to the DMV to find out what you need to do.

Which insurance companies offer SR-22 filings?

Most car insurance companies can and will file an SR-22 form for you, including some of the best-known insurers. All of the companies in the table below will file an SR-22.

You can see that the rate increase varies, based on Insurance.com’s 2022 analysis. For example, you could pay 166% more for a Geico SR-22 policy than for standard car insurance without the SR-22 requirement.

Cheapest SR-22 Insurance Companies
CompanyAverage base rateRate with SR-22 for DUIAverage increase
Geico$1,352$3,595166%
Nationwide$1,523$3,420125%
Farmers$2,740$4,09449%
State Farm$1,672$3,14688%
Allstate$2,513$5,179106%
Progressive$1,933$3,02857%

An insurance company is more likely to deny you coverage because of the violation on your record than because you need an SR-22.

Frequently asked questions about SR-22 insurance

How do I get my SR-22 removed?

When your SR-22 requirement is removed, simply contact your insurance company to let them know you don’t need it anymore. 

Do I have to tell my insurer about my SR-22 requirement?

You’ll need to inform your insurance company that you need an SR-22 so that they can file it on your behalf. Your insurance company will learn about the violation that led to the SR-22 requirement when it runs your record, so there’s no reason to avoid telling them.

How do I check the status of my SR-22?

To find out if your SR-22 has been filed, contact your insurance company. You can also check with the DMV or the court to find out if the SR-22 has been received and processed.

How long does it take to get an SR-22?

The process of filing an SR-22 can be time-consuming. The average wait is 30 days, so don’t wait to get it started.

Are there different types of SR-22 forms?

There are three different types of SR-22 forms, and your insurer can help you choose one:

  • Owner: Covers you only when driving a car you own.
  • Owner-Operator: Covers you when driving your own car and cars owned by others.
  • Non-owner: Covers you if you don’t own a car but drive cars owned by others.

Helpful Auto Insurance Articles & Guides