Texas is #27. If you moved to Texas from out-of state, you may have been surprised by how much less - or more - you were paying for auto insurance. Texas ranks 27th on the list of average cost of insurance. Drivers in crowded urban areas like Dallas, Houston and San Antonio pay huge premiums, because the frequency of car crashes is greater than in the suburbs. And, car thefts are highest in the Southwest, so an anti-theft or tracking device can help.
20% of the cars on the road in Texas are uninsured. So, the Texas Legislature created a motor vehicle insurance verification system, called TexasSure. It matches your vehicle identification number (VIN) to a database of Texas insurance policies. You must show an insurance ID card when you register your car or have an accident.
If you drive without insurance, you can be fined up to $350 for a first offense (plus court costs) and up to $1,000 (with a 2 year driver's license suspension) for repeat offenses.
We can help you find the right coverage when you get an instant quote on Texas car insurance from the nation's top companies. We partner with some of the most trusted names in the U.S. - and since they're all competing for your business - you save big.
Aside from saving you time and money on Texas car insurance, we also have helpful articles, FAQs and information on the hottest insurance topics today. Stay informed while saving big on your Texas car insurance now.
Children are undoubtedly the most precious cargo that any parent carries in their automobile. Nevertheless, improper usage of child restraint systems needlessly injures thousands of children on Texas's roads each year. Learn more about Texas's car seat law and see why it might not go far enough.
Concerned with the impact of cell phone use on driving safety, Texas lawmakers have enacted cell phone laws. See how these laws might impact you.
In Texas a driver must have a minimum coverage of $30,000 for bodily injury to one person, $60,000 for bodily injury sustained by two or more persons in a single accident, and $25,000 for property damage that results from one accident. Learn more about the minimum auto liability insurance limits in Texas.
According to the National Motorists Association (NMA), a non-profit political interest group, many consumers are concerned that speed traps are a dubious means by which Texas municipalities generate additional, non-tax revenues to pay for equipment and salaries. What does this mean for you?
If you are a driver in Texas (or anywhere for that matter), you know how complicated and confusing it can be to file a car accident claim, switch car insurance companies or simply add a person on to your policy. To help make things easier when dealing with your auto insurance company, we have gathered some helpful tips for Texas car insurance customers.
Consumer alerts, regulations and news about all types of insurance.
Information about vehicle registration and more.
Information about driver registration and more.
Over the past decade, cell phones have evolved from luxury items to absolute necessities for most on-the-go Americans. The omnipresent nature of cell phones is not, however, without a price as the National Traffic and Highway Safety Administration (NTHSA) estimates cell phone-related car accidents are on the rise with distracted drivers causing over 25% of all police-reported traffic accidents. Concerned with the impact of cell phone use on driving safety, Texas lawmakers have enacted cell phone laws.
In Texas a driver must have a minimum coverage of $30,000 for bodily injury to one person, $60,000 for bodily injury sustained by two or more persons in a single accident, and $25,000 for property damage that results from one accident. To adequately protect yourself, you may want to purchase much more than the minimum amount of coverage required for Texas.
No one wants to pay more for insurance due to speeding tickets. But if you find yourself caught in a speed trap, what are your options? Find out.
Copyright © 1998-2013 by Quinstreet, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Insurance licenses