Don't put your child's safety in jeopardy by not knowing what the state laws are regarding child seats. You also want to be sure you are using child restraint systems properly or you risk the chance of your child getting injured should you have an accident.
According to Texas's car seat law (http://www.txdps.state.tx.us):
Thus, under the Texas car seat law, children over 5 years old or 36 inches may ride in a vehicle using a standard adult safety belt. The problem with this according to advocates is that most children under 80 pounds are too small for an adult seat belt. Even the Texas Department of Public Safety's website indicates that the Texas car seat law sets the minimum safety standard that should be followed (http://www.txdps.state.tx.us). This is because adult seat belts can actually be dangerous to children over 5 years old because the belt cuts directly across their neck instead of snug across the center of their shoulder. This can lead to serious injury or even death in the event of an accident.
So what's a safety-conscious parent to do? Car seat safety advocates recommend that Texans follow one of the following guidelines:
If your child resists using a belt-positioning booster, experts recommend the following:
In the end, the Texas car seat law should be viewed as a starting point for any child's traveling safety. Parents should take into consideration their child`s unique height, weight, and other attributes that may impact their use of standard, adult seat belts. And if you have any doubts about what's the right thing to do, simply err on the side of caution. After all, you're protecting your most precious cargo.
One of our newsletters should arrive in your inbox soon - keep an eye out for it!
Copyright © 1998-2015 by Quinstreet, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Insurance licenses
Insurance.com is not affiliated with any state or government agency.
950 Tower Ln, Suite 600, Foster City 94404