What Are the Minimum Levels of Liability Car Insurance in My State?

By Doresa Banning Posted : 10/07/2010

Car Insurance Liability MinimumsEach state, with the exception of New Hampshire, requires you to carry minimum levels of liability car insurance. If you're a driver in one of those 49 states and Washington, D.C., you must buy liability insurance in order to drive legally. If you cause an accident, liability coverage will pay for damages (medical and/or property) you cause to others - up to the limits of your liability coverage.

Most car insurance industry experts recommend carrying higher levels of liability coverage than the state minimums, but you are only legally required to carry the limits set by your state. The chart below shows the liability auto insurance requirements required by each state.

The second column specifies the mandatory minimum amounts of liability coverage. For example, 15/30/10 means coverage up to $30,000 for all individuals injured in an accident, subject to a limit of $15,000 for one person and $10,000 for property damage.

The third column indicates whether Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is compulsory. PIP includes medical, rehabilitation, loss of earnings, funeral expenses and, in some states, essential services like child care.

The fourth column shows whether uninsured motorist (UM) or underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage is required.

 

State

Minimum liability insurance requirements

PIP required?

UIM/UM required?

Alabama

25/50/25

No

No

Alaska

50/100/25

No

No

Arizona

15/30/10

No

No

Arkansas

25/50/25

Yes

No

California

15/30/5

No

No

Colorado

25/50/15

No

No

Connecticut

20/40/10

No

UM & UIM

Delaware

15/30/10

Yes

No

District of Columbia

25/50/10

No

UM

Florida

10/20/10

Yes

No

Georgia

25/50/25

No

No

Hawaii

20/40/10

Yes

No

Idaho

25/50/15

No

No

Illinois

20/40/15

No

UM

Indiana

25/50/10

No

No

Iowa

20/40/15

No

No

Kansas

25/50/10

Yes

UM

Kentucky

25/50/10

Yes

No

Louisiana

15/30/25

No

No

Maine

50/100/25

No

UM & UIM

Maryland

20/40/15

Yes

UM & UIM

Massachusetts

20/40/5

Yes

UM

Michigan

20/40/10

Yes

No

Minnesota

30/60/10

Yes

UM & UIM

Mississippi

25/50/25

No

No

Missouri

25/50/10

No

UM

Montana

25/50/10

No

No

Nebraska

25/50/25

No

No

Nevada

15/30/10

No

No

New Hampshire

25/50/25 (1)

No

UM

New Jersey

15/30/5

Yes

UM & UIM

New Mexico

25/50/10

No

No

New York

25/50/10

Yes

UM

North Carolina

30/60/25

No

UM & UIM

North Dakota

25/50/25

Yes

UM & UIM

Ohio

12.5/25/7.5

No

No

Oklahoma

25/50/25

No

No

Oregon

25/50/20

Yes

UM

Pennsylvania

15/30/5

Yes

No

Rhode Island

25/50/25

No

UM

South Carolina

25/50/25

No

UM

South Dakota

25/50/25

No

UM

Tennessee

25/50/15

No

No

Texas

25/50/25

No

No

Utah

25/65/15

Yes

No

Vermont

25/50/10

No

No

Virginia

25/50/20

No

UM & UIM

Washington

25/50/10

No

No

West Virginia

20/40/10

No

UM

Wisconsin

50/100/15

No

UM & UIM

Wyoming

25/50/25

No

No

 

  1. New Hampshire does not require you to carry auto insurance, but you must demonstrate that you are can meet financial responsibility requirements in the event of an "at-fault" accident. If you choose to buy car insurance, the minimum limits sold are 25/50/25 and you must purchase UM coverage.

Source: Insurance Information Institute

 

Compare real rates and save real money
Valid Zipcode Required
Select
Invalid Age
Select
Invalid Carrier
Yes
No
Yes
No

Related Articles on Insurance.com

0 Responses to "What Are the Minimum Levels of Liability Car Insurance in My State?"

No Comments

What do you think? You can add a helpful comment to this page by filling out the form below.
Just looking for a quote? Click here
 
 
 
Dentmaster:
What does my car
insurance cover?

Test your knowledge in
under 60 seconds!
Give your feedback